Run the Quay 5K

If you read my post Dear Half Marathon, I was basically stating that I felt burned out from racing half marathons and was thinking about focusing on shorter distance races for a while. When someone from a local running group I follow posted a free race entry for the 5K distance of the Run the Quay, I took it as my opportunity to test out my theory (hope?) that racing a shorter distance would bring back my love for racing.

Run the Quay is a race in Fuquay-Varina in North Carolina, a small town that’s a suburb of Raleigh, and is about 45 minutes from where I live that’s held every year the beginning of June. This year for the 20th edition of Run the Quay, there were three options for adults plus a kids run: 10K, 5K, or Challenge, which meant you run the 10K first, which starts at 7 am, then stop until everyone is off the course, then at 8:30 am, you run the 5K. For those runners who are faster than others, the break in between the races will of course be longer. I chose to just run the 5K but I had several friends who signed up for the Challenge.

Packet pickup was offered either Friday evening or Saturday morning on race day. Rather than drive 90 minutes just to pick up my bib, I chose to pick it up on Saturday morning, especially since they were offering the service until 8:15. I arrived around 7:45, and was glad to see it was “only” around the low 60’s, with relatively low (for our area) humidity. Most years this race is much hotter and more humid on race morning. I also chose not to get a race shirt but I could have purchased one, plus they were selling previous years’ race shirts for just $5.

Waiting for the 10K to finish and the 5K to start

Promptly at 8:30, the 5K started, with all 1500 or so of us crammed together like sardines. Even though the announcer said to let the faster runners in the front, there were many people with strollers near the front, along with young children that looked to be around elementary age. I had friends that had already run the 10K, and were doing the Challenge, who had warned me the course was hilly, plus it was heating up fast, with the sun out in full force by then.

Even with the crowded course, I didn’t feel like it held me back, especially after we got through the start/finish chute and could spread out more on the roads. The course wound through quiet neighborhoods and parts were shaded, which helped. I knew this was a mostly out-and-back course, with two separate loops that began and ended at the same spot. Since the first mile started out downhill, that meant we’d have to climb back up that hill on the way back. There were also rolling hills throughout the course; this was far from a flat race.

My first mile was at 8:18 pace but also had 56 feet of elevation drop. Miles two and three were slower at 8:56 and 9:00 pace, and included 11 and 26 feet of elevation gain, respectively. The final 0.12 mile had 18 feet of elevation gain alone, and my pace for that final hill was 9:15, for a final finish time of 27:22, good enough for fifth in my age group.

Since I hadn’t trained for the race distance specifically, I was happy with my final time. More important, it did answer my question if I was burned out from running half marathons specifically or just running races in general. Despite the tough conditions, I enjoyed myself and would definitely run another 5K or even 10K. I was glad I didn’t sign up for the Challenge and have to run a 15K that morning, which told me I’m not ready for longer distance races at this point in my life.

Not the best photo, but look at the smile on my face! Proof that I did enjoy the race!

After the race, there were only bananas, some cut-up oranges, and water being given out at the finish area. Cooling towels were also handed out by volunteers, along with the medals. Some local businesses were also giving out bottled water and random items like candy or pens, etc. with their business logo on them at the finish area, but I didn’t stop by any of them. There was an option to drive or walk the approximately half a mile to the Mason Jar Tavern for a free beer, but honestly, I was spent after the race and just wanted to get home. I took some photos, chatted with some friends who had run the Challenge, and drove home. This was a low-key smallish race, and I enjoyed it. It was just what I needed to restore my faith in racing once again. https://runthequay.itsyourrace.com/event.aspx?id=2975

Since it’s full-on summer here, there aren’t many more races throughout the summer, unless I travel to one, which I don’t plan on doing, so I likely won’t run another race until sometime this fall. That being said, I am signed up for an untimed 5K later in June, which I’m running with my daughter. Other than that, I don’t have any specific races in mind that I’d like to run, but I’m just taking things as they come my way, and if a race pops up that piques my interest, I might sign up.

What about you? Do you have any summer races planned? Have you felt burned out from a specific race distance you’ve run many times and mixed things up with a different distance?

Happy running!

Donna

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US, which I completed in 2021. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

2 thoughts on “Run the Quay 5K”

    1. Thanks, I was glad as well.

      Well, I do enjoy playing scrabble, but it would be quite a different blog if I wrote about that instead of running and travel. lol. I doubt it would be very interesting.

      Like

Leave a comment