Covered Bridges Half Marathon, Vermont-9th state

This is part of a series of posts from my quest to run a half marathon in all 50 states. Vermont was my 9th state.

This was my first time to Vermont and I immediately fell in love with the area. Vermont is known as the “Green Mountain State” and I know why. Everywhere I looked was the greenest grass and trees I had ever seen. In June 2007, I ran the 16th Annual Covered Bridges Half-Marathon beginning in Woodstock and ending in Quechee, not really knowing what to expect.

I had debated whether I should sign up for a fall race in Vermont instead of one in June, because I had heard how beautiful the New England states are in the fall with the changing leaf colors. However, as I said in my post about the Naples Daily News Half Marathon, Florida- 8th state, I was planning a vacation to Hawaii later that fall and wanted to test out our daughter with flying shorter distances before we flew all the way to Hawaii. This would be a short flight so it fit the bill. She was a champion traveler this time as well as on the flight to Florida, so I felt like we would have no problems flying to Hawaii.

The race tarted at the ski resort area in Woodstock and continued along country roads before ultimately ending in Quechee. It was hilly and normally I don’t like running a hilly course, but it was so beautiful the hills truly didn’t bother me. We ran past four covered bridges and the Ottauquechee River. The local people running the race and the volunteers were all friendly and helpful as well. The runners I encountered were also extremely friendly and had great senses of humor; several times during the race, I heard someone saying something that made me laugh. I had fun running this race from beginning to end.

I received a short-sleeve technical shirt, pretty plain and on the large side but fine.  It was white with the race logo on it:

screen-shot-2016-12-28-at-1-43-06-pm

Medals weren’t given out until beginning in 2012 for this race so I didn’t receive one.

I highly recommend anyone looking for a scenic half marathon to run the Covered Bridges Half Marathon. Tip:  this race sells out fast so register as early as possible. They do have options to run for charities, however. If you commit to raising at least $500 plus pay your entry fee, you’re in! When considering lodging, remember this area has some wonderful bed and breakfasts. There are links to several nearby on the race website.

My finish time for the Covered Bridges Half Marathon was 1:59:43.

Covered Bridges Half Marathon

 

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US, which I completed in 2021. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!