Marathon of the Americas and Half Marathon, Texas-10th state

For my Lone Star State race, I chose the 33rd annual Marathon of the Americas and Half Marathon.  When I ran it in 2007, there were 2481 half marathon finishers.  I thought Texas in November should be a nice time of year for a race and I was right.

San Antonio is a popular tourist destination with scenic areas such as the River Walk and the Alamo.  It also has five missions of the San Antonio Missions National Historical Park, including the Alamo.  The race began at the Alamo, which was beautiful in the early morning light, and the course continued past some of the other missions.  San Antonio has a lot of character and history; if you’re a history buff, you’ll love it here.

From my post-race notes:

“Ran past several missions (missionary buildings).  Great volunteer stations.  Started at the Alamo and finished inside Alamo dome, which was fun.  Alamo was beautiful with the sun coming up. Flat course.  My finish time was 1:59:19.”

As far as I can tell, 2007 was the last year for this race so I can’t put a link to the site here. It looks like it was replaced by the Rock ‘N’ Roll San Antonio in December, which I’m sure doesn’t have the same feel as the race I ran.  It seems like more and more of the smaller races are being replaced with bigger races.  I don’t think that’s a good thing, personally.

IMG_2395

 

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

Leave a Reply

