HIIT Me Baby One More Time!

britney-spears-baby-one-more-time7

Sorry, but I couldn’t resist! I’ve been doing a HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) workout once a week that I’ve been loving. It kicks my butt, but I feel like it’s a great workout for runners. I know this is nothing new, and I’ve done HIIT workouts before, but this particular HIIT workout feels different from others I’ve done in the past.

Here’s what I do:

warm-up

  1. Burpee
  2. Squat
  3. Lateral slide
  4. Reverse lunge
  5. Mountain climber
  6. Scissor kick
  7. Spiderman

I do each exercise for 20 seconds at high intensity then 10 seconds of rest continuously for 4 minutes. After 4 minutes, I rest for 1 minute then start the next exercise. Exercises are only done for 4 minutes, so I don’t cycle through then repeat exercises. It takes about 35 minutes not including the warmup and I am thoroughly wiped-out when I’m done.

I’ve done this workout twice and I was sore for days after the first time. I was only a little sore after the second time. I figure I’ll keep doing this series of exercises until I feel like it’s getting easier, then I’ll change out some of the exercises for others. For example, I could swap out scissor kick for leg lifts or something along those lines.

I feel like this will help me with running hills and just running in general. It should also help with dead butt syndrome. I think this workout is definitely helping to strengthen my core and my glutes. After the first time, it hurt when I would sit down or get out of a chair in particular. I probably would back off of this intense of a workout in the final couple of weeks before a half marathon, but since I’m in-between training plans, it’s the perfect opportunity for something like this.

Here are links that show how to do each exercise:

burpee

squat

lateral slide

reverse lunge

mountain climber

scissor kick

spiderman

How about you all?  Do you have a HIIT workout that you’re loving/hating right now?

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

12 thoughts on “HIIT Me Baby One More Time!”

  1. You are such great inspiration! I need to focus and get serious about my cross training… I really really don’t want dead butt syndrome (which I’m sure I already have). Focusfocusfocus. But oh, those burpees… yuck. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very sweet for saying that. I don’t feel like an inspiration! The best part about this workout is you get the burpees out of the way first thing so you don’t have them hanging over your head, dreading them the whole workout. It’s the mountain climbers that get me because they’re late in the workout!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds great but of course one needs to heed your body’s messages. From earliest youth I had a minor deformity to my right foot. When I over-trained and had pain, I tended to ignore it. Now in my 70s, there is no cartilege in my right knee and my marathon days, indeed my running days, are over.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never really done the HIIT programs but certainly admire those runners that can incorporate them, so great job!! On a totally mostly unrelated note, I think I might have that song in my playlist not that I would ever admit that officially 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

