Call for Suggestions for a Half Marathon

For those of you that don’t already know, I’m running a half marathon in all 50 US states. My last one was in Utah, state number 39, which of course means I have 11 more to go. Yay!

images                                    11images (1)                                     1150

I have the following states to go:  New Jersey and West Virginia, both of which I’ve already got races picked out, so disregard them. That leaves Iowa, Minnesota, Arkansas, Delaware, Alaska, Wyoming, Idaho (I’m thinking one in Coeur d’Alene just because it looks amazing there), Nebraska, and New Mexico. So I ask all of you reading this, do you have any suggestions for half marathons in these states?  I’m not repeating a state, so if it’s one I’ve already done, thanks anyway.

I’ll take suggestions either way, too. If you loved or hated a race, let me know which one it was and why you loved or hated it.

Even if you haven’t personally ran a half marathon in any of these states but you have a good friend or relative who did and they raved or ranted about it, please pass those my way! I’ll take any and all suggestions I can get.

People often ask me how I choose which races I’m going to run. For many of my races, I’ve had a particular race in mind then something happens and for some reason I can’t run the race I had picked out months or even years in advance, and I’d end up running another race entirely. Usually it’s ended up well, but in the case of Tybee Island, Georgia and Run the Reagan Half Marathon, that wasn’t the best decision. Honestly, since my daughter started school, most of the races I’ve chosen have fit around her school breaks (which haven’t always been during a traditional school year).

Since I’m down to these final states it’s going to take some planning on my part to make sure I reach my goal. I don’t think I’ll be able to just randomly choose a race without thoroughly thinking the logistics through. For example, while there are some half marathons during the winter in Minnesota, you can be sure I won’t be running in any of them. That’s one state I think I have to run in the summer or early (very early) fall.

Now that I have a blog and have connected with many other runners online, I thought I’d send out a call for suggestions here. I know many of you run primarily marathons or other distances than half marathons, but I also know if you’re a part of a running community, you often hear other runners talk about races and I was hoping to gain some of that insight.

However, I realize some of these states aren’t exactly in “hot spots” where people are dying to run a race, like Disney, New York, Chicago, etc. so if I don’t get any suggestions I’ll understand. Personally, I can’t wait to go to most of these states but I don’t think they’re high on most runners’ lists of places where they want to run, with possibly the exception of Alaska.

You never know unless you ask, right? Anyone? Anything?

 

 

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

16 thoughts on “Call for Suggestions for a Half Marathon”

  1. For Delaware, Rehoboth Seashore Half! One of my faves! I wrote a race report of why I loved it so: https://afastpacedlife.wordpress.com/2016/12/07/rehoboth-beach-seashore-half-marathon-race-report/

    For Idaho, Freakin’ Fast Half. I would totally be doing it this year except my husband has a tri that SAME WEEKEND (why does everything fall on the same day) in New Jersey, so I’ll have to put it off til next year. You have no idea how bummed out I am about this.

    Which half will you be doing for Jersey?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read your race report on the Rehoboth Seashore Half. To be honest, I’m from the south, and I’d be a little nervous about doing a half in Delaware in December (too cold), but it does sound like a fun race. I’ll definitely have to think about it. I hadn’t heard of the Freakin’ Fast Half, but I like the sound of that! lol. For Jersey, I’m doing the Superhero Half in Morristown. Thanks for your suggestions!

      Like

      1. It wasn’t that cold when I did it last year, but I understand how as a Southerner you’d find it too cold. When I go running in FL in winter, I see Floridians wearing hats and jackets in 55 degree weather and we consider those temps WARM for running. Ha!

        I’ve heard good things about the Superhero Half and hope to do it one day. Have a great time.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Living in the south makes you a weather wimp when it comes to running, or at least me. 50’s is about right for me for a half marathon.
          Thanks! I’ll write up a race report, but I’ll likely be a little slow on posting it since I’ll be on my way to Chile right after the race.

          Like

  2. Wow, only 11 to go…that is amazing!! For ID, as Paula mentioned we have done FitOne Boise a couple of times and can highly recommend. There is also a relatively new marathon/half-marathon called Onward Shay in Boise. We were going to run it last year but schedule never worked out. But, as you point out visiting CDA and Boise on the same trip would be a challenge. We have traveled through CDA a couple times and it is beautiful. Also, famous for it’s IronMan! Boise is a great town to visit. There is also another event near Boise called Lake Lowell but it is very low key. Then, last week my Dad just completed the half-marathon run to Robie Creek which is considered one of the toughest half-marathons in the Northwest. Shame you still don’t have WA on your list…we would definitely try to visit and run with you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, James. I really didn’t know much about Boise but am going to do some research and re-think my ID race. I have heard how hard the race in Robie Creek is. You must have gotten some good running genes from your dad if he can do that!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yeah, he did really well as that is one tough race and it sells out in minutes every year…he was a very late adopter of running (as I was I) but I got him into it a couple years ago…he ran his first half the same week he turned 70! Boise is a great town…we visit reasonably often for family as my Dad lives there. My step-Dad that I grew up with in England though, now he is the one with the running DNA and has ran for many years…about as long as I can remember, and has a sub-3 marathon PR!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

