Just Checking In- One Week to Go

It’s just a little over a week until my next half marathon which will be my 41st half marathon in state number 39. The race is in Utah and I’ve never been there but am hugely excited about all of the hiking my family and I have planned to do after the race, so yes, it will be another racecation for us. With only one week to go before the race, how am I doing?  Well, for some reason it feels like forever since I’ve ran a race, even though I ran a half marathon in San Diego in November- Silver Strand Half Marathon, California-38th state so it really hasn’t been that long.

My training plan, which I’ve just cobbled together myself based on other training plans I’ve read about or otherwise came across consists of running just three days a week.  I know some of you may be gasping and saying to yourself, “Only three days a week?  That’s crazy!” When I was younger I would run four or five days a week depending on what I was training for, but for the past several years I’ve just been running three days a week.  However, I also ride my bike outside (or indoors if it’s too cold outside) one day a week, go to yoga class one day a week, go to core class one day a week, and lift weights one day a week. That leaves me with doing some form of exercise every day of the week. I feel like yoga, cycling, and maintaining muscle are all extremely important for runners and I just don’t have enough time in the day to do all of that plus run massive amounts, work full-time, take care of my daughter, and do all of the other million things I need to do. I can get by with it by running half marathons but I know I would need to add another day or two if I was training for marathons.

23622152211_5e8678c482_o
Zion National Park awaits! Photo credit NPS

So how do I get enough miles in by only running three days a week? Obviously there is zero room for any “fun runs” or any other kind of easy or recovery run days. I run either hills or do a tempo run one day, speed work another day, and a long run, a.k.a. a “leg strengthening run” on the third day. Why do I call my long run my “leg strengthening run?”  I just started calling it that recently because although my legs surely get stronger on my speed work days, I feel like putting in the miles is what really strengthens them and gets them ready for a half marathon. I’ve seen training plans where they’re called “long slow distance” runs, but I prefer “leg strengthening run.”

But back to the original question- how am I doing with only one week to go? I’m not sure, to be honest. I had a rough start in my training because of a cold that turned into bronchitis and once my cough finally went away after weeks, just when I was finally feeling better, I got another cold. The second one wasn’t nearly as bad as the first cold but it did put a damper on my running.  I remember having to stop running multiple times on one of my long runs to blow my nose in the tissues I had thankfully brought. I’m over all of that but I’ve also had this strange pain in my right leg that I’ve had a hard time figuring out what the cause is. The best I can determine, it’s a knot that firmly wedged itself in the soleus muscle of my calf. Anyway, it hurts, sometimes a lot, sometimes not as much but the pain does seem to come and go.  I’ve been foam rolling, rolling on a lacrosse ball, and getting massage therapy. Last night when I did speed work, my leg started to hurt and after I was done, my leg hurt a lot.  If this happens during the race, I’m not sure I’ll be able to run through the pain for that long. We’ll see, I guess.

10247382743_78337212f6_o
Bryce Canyon; photo credit Warren Russell

I will be in a new age group for this half marathon, as my birthday is two days before the race. I’ve checked last year’s results, though, and there’s no way I’ll be anywhere near the top three for my new age group. This is a downhill course and either that’s why the previous times are all so fast, or else women from this part of Utah are just super-speedy!  I’m definitely looking forward to the downhill course. The last downhill course I ran was Spearfish Canyon Half Marathon, South Dakota- 34th state and I loved that race, and it was my fastest finish time to date, so who knows what might happen at this one.

Finish times aside, I’m just looking forward to running a race in a new state and having tons of fun with my family in Utah and Arizona and seeing the sights including Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, and Grand Canyon National Park (our National Parks Pass will come in handy!).  My daughter is also running a 5k, while I run my half marathon.  I wish I could watch her but the start times are the same so I’ll miss it but my husband will be with her, photographing and videoing it for me.

8117588200_d13011cfef_o
Grand Canyon; photo credit Rob Parsons

Does anyone else have any races coming up?  I know a bunch of you have been racing a lot this month and I’ve enjoyed reading about your experiences.

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

17 thoughts on “Just Checking In- One Week to Go”

  1. You’re basically following the Run Less, Run Faster philosophy. I usually run 3x a week as well with the same set of training runs. If I have extra time, I may do a 4th run, but this is rare. I actually prefer to run 3x a week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck with your race and I hope that your leg feels better soon! Utah is absolutely stunning, I think you’ll enjoy it quite a lot!

    I’m currently training for my first ever 5K, which is on my birthday in April. It’s quite a bit ahead but I’m currently nursing a muscle issue in my left leg. (I did way too much too quickly…the problem with being an overachiever.)

    Enjoy Utah and take care of that leg!

    Like

  3. I know illness can set you back, but I think you’re going to do just as wonderful as you’ve always done! I like your 3x week running plan… there’s just not enough time to fit everything in! So on that note, I will wish you Good Luck for a great race, and do have fun in Utah! Happy Birthday early!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Best of luck with the race, wow 41 half marathons that is amazing and I enjoy following your racing travels…I think you will be fine with the race, there are always aches and pains it seems but regardless, hope you the family have a great trip! We did Utah last year at the SLC marathon…the altitude was a challenge for us and the rolling course was tough but we enjoyed our visit. Next race up for me is a local half-marathon on March 4…next racecation travel race is Reno at end of April.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

