I’m an Ambassador- Now What?

Not that kind of ambassador. Without even fully understanding what it would entail because I’ve never been an ambassador before, I submitted my request to be an ambassador for Nuun during 2017.  Guess what- I was selected!  For those of you not familiar with Nuun, it is a company famous for their hydration products.  You just add these little tablets made from plant-based ingredients to water and get tasty electrolytes to help fuel your activity whether it’s running, hiking, cycling, swimming, or whatever else you do where you’re sweating a lot.  There are 4 basic products:  nuun active, nuun energy (with caffeine), plus for nuun (with dextrose and sucrose for high intensity exercise), and nuun vitamins.

Most people that use Nuun products are very enthusiastic about them.  They are happy to promote them to other people and tell all of their friends and fellow athletes to give Nuun a try!  This is the backbone behind the Nuun ambassadorship, in my opinion.  I am happy to do this, but I am also unsure what is “expected” of me as an ambassador.

I know many of you out there are or once were Nuun ambassadors or ambassadors for other companies.  I’m asking you to help me out here.  I’m a newbie.  I didn’t even know such a thing existed for the average runner like me until I became a blogger.  I always thought companies only wanted people like elite runner Kara Goucher, who just happens to also be a Nuun ambassador this year, to tout their products.

So I ask all of you that either are currently or used to be ambassadors for products, what advice do you have for me?  Am I over-thinking this?  I’m certainly not trying to pretend like this is some huge sponsorship or anything over the top like that, for those of you not familiar with pretty much any of what I’m talking about.  I get discounts on the products and access to an online community but as far as what I’m seeing that’s pretty much it.  In return, I’m supposed to help promote their products.  Is that it in a nutshell?  For those of you that are or have been ambassadors for products, what’s been your favorite and why?

nuun

 

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

6 thoughts on “I’m an Ambassador- Now What?”

  1. Oooo, very cool! Congratulations! I’m not an ambassador to anything, but still, yours is great! When you get your discount code that you share with others (if you do, I should say, lol), let me know. I only drink Nuun when I run (other than those rare beer and jello shots offered along the race course, haha). 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your ambassadorship! I’m also a newbie as an ambassador for Honey Stinger. From what I was told, you just mention their products now and again. Honey Stinger wants us to tell them about our race results and when we use their products. When we post pictures with their products, they want to hear about it. Some other ambassadorships have stricter rules like having to promote their stuff once every two weeks. I think as long as you’re talking about them every once in awhile, you’re good. 🙂 Enjoy those nuun discounts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

