Boulder Rez Half Marathon, Colorado- 37th state

This is part of a series of posts from my quest to run a half marathon in all 50 states. Colorado was my 37th state.

I don’t know anyone from a lower elevation who would set out to run a race in Colorado with the intention of setting a PR (personal record).  Running at a higher elevation decreases the amount of oxygen that gets to muscles.  Low atmospheric pressure makes the blood less oxygen-rich as it goes to the muscles.  Quite simply, your heart has to work harder and it is more difficult just to get your breath at a higher elevation.  After much debate and consideration I signed up for the Boulder Rez half marathon.

I researched elevations of cities in Colorado with half marathons (some of them are no joke!) and with an elevation of 5,430 feet Boulder is one of the lower ones.  I ran the Spearfish Canyon Half Marathon, South Dakota- 34th state, which is about 5,000 feet above sea level, so I thought I would be alright.  I wasn’t considering the fact that Spearfish Canyon was a downhill course and Boulder Rez is not; apparently that made a huge difference.

IMG_20160605_071528300

Packet pickup was the usual only my bag included some unique things like a book- “Oola. Find Balance in an Unbalanced World.”  I still haven’t read it but I will eventually. I also received a full box of cereal and two small sample sized boxes of cereal (Mighty Flakes, made from beans) among the other usual free samples and coupons.  The shirt was a nice technical short-sleeve fitted gender-specific-sized.

IMG_20160605_092829709

The course itself was not what I expected.  The info I read said, “This amazing run course around the Boulder Reservoir is astonishing and remains mostly on dirt roads and trails! The course is flat with only 200 feet of elevation gain, and will take you across the Boulder Reservoir and around some beautiful views of the Rocky Mountains.”  I guess when you’re at a higher elevation, 200 feet of elevation gain feels more like 500 feet.  Or maybe it was just me.

Boulder is about a 45 minute drive from the Denver International Airport.  After the race, my family and I did quite a bit of hiking in the Boulder area Colorado in June- Hiking in Boulder.  We also drove to Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park Colorado in June- Estes Park and RMNP and spent a full day there.  Estes Park is about an hour drive from Boulder and Rocky Mountain National Park is only about 15 minutes from Estes Park.

From my post-race notes:  “This  was one of my toughest halfs to date.  I felt tired after running only 2 miles.  I also felt nauseous around mile 5 or 6 which I can only attribute to the altitude and had to really focus just to keep it together.  The course was 2 laps around the Boulder Reservoir.  When I signed up for the race and saw it was around the reservoir I thought it would be relatively flat but I was wrong.  I would say the course was full of rolling hills. They weren’t that steep or long but were definitely hills.  That combined with the heat and elevation made for one challenging course for me.  It was around 60 degrees at the 7:15 a.m. start and quickly heated up so that it was in the 70’s within the hour. There wasn’t a cloud in the sky and only a slight breeze. The views of the mountains and the water along the course were amazing and definitely helped to keep me motivated.  There was no crowd support except at the start/finish area.  There were plenty of volunteers and water stations along the course however.  Food at the finish included bagels, hard boiled eggs, oranges, cereal bars, yogurt, and beer.  The medals were huge and the shirts were form-fitting women’s or men’s sizes.  We also got a free race photo download.  My finish time was one of my slowest of recent races but this was one race I was just thrilled to finish, 2:13:17.”

IMG_20160605_095646901

IMG_20160605_100101010

20160612_163844

Boulder Rez Half Marathon, 10K, and 5K

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

5 thoughts on “Boulder Rez Half Marathon, Colorado- 37th state”

  1. Elevation makes such a difference…ran the Salt Lake City marathon this year and with training basically at sea level in Seattle, it was an enormous challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

