Garmin Marathon, Kansas-18th state

This is part of a series of posts from my quest to run a half marathon in all 50 states. Kansas was my 18th state.

How many of you have heard of Olathe, Kansas?   Now how many of you have heard of the company Garmin?  I’ll bet most of you have at least heard of Garmin, but probably none or very few of you knew Olathe, Kansas is the headquarters for Garmin.  Or maybe it was just me that wasn’t aware of that until I went there.

The start and finish of the Olathe Kansas Marathon and Half Marathon was at the Garmin headquarters.  This race was a nice size with 703 finishers for the half marathon and the average finish time was 2:09:22.  The course is flat except for some small hills near the finish.  Although when I ran this race, the medals were small and cheap-looking, the medals for the 2017 race look awesome!  They’ve definitely stepped up their game.

Olathe is a suburb of Kansas City, which is where my family and I spent the majority of our time before and after the race.  Kansas City was surprisingly beautiful when I was there in April 2010, with so many flowers in bloom, and fountains everywhere. Kansas City, Missouri has more fountains than any other city in the world except Rome, Italy.  We had a lot of fun going to the museums and enjoying delicious Kansas City style BBQ. Of course my husband couldn’t resist saying (multiple times) “We’re not in Kansas anymore” every time we would cross the state border going to and from Missouri. That never got old to him.

From my post-race notes:

“The course was mostly flat with some rolling hills toward the end, going through industrial areas then neighborhoods.  Not particularly scenic, but not bad.  Weather was good- mid to upper 50’s at start and low 60’s at finish.  Water and Gatorade were plentiful. Nice course overall, but nothing extraordinary.  Pacers were great and right on target times.  Finished on a track.  Usual food (bananas, oranges, bagels) and drinks afterwards. Shirts and medals were cheap and very plain.  My finish time was 2:06:01.”

IMG_5396

Garmin Marathon

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

Leave a Reply

