Ole Man River Half Marathon, Louisiana-17th state

This is part of a series of posts from my quest to run a half marathon in all 50 states. Louisiana was my 17th state.

If you’re looking for a flat half marathon in December with temperatures relatively warm compared to much of the United States, where you can tack on a vacation afterwards for an unforgettable racecation, look no further than the Ole Man River Half Marathon.  I had never been to New Orleans when I signed up for the Ole Man River Half Marathon, but I was very much looking forward to spending some time there before and after the race.

New Orleans is such a unique city full of character and not like any other place in the world.  I was there with my husband and young daughter and we had a blast, even on the day when it was drizzling and quite chilly and we were wandering around the streets trying to find a bakery.  We obviously weren’t partying on Bourbon Street but I found New Orleans to be a city that I will never forget.

The race wasn’t quite as fun as I had hoped but it wasn’t bad.  Much of the course is on top of the levee overlooking the Mississippi River and it is about as flat as races come.  The shirts are long-sleeve technical material.  An 8 am start was fine given the cooler temperatures in December.  There were absolutely no locals out cheering along the course but there were plenty of volunteers at the aid stations and they did a good job.

Verdict:  it’s a good half marathon to run in December to escape the cold weather from northern states.  Grab a beignet from Cafe Du Monde for me if you go!

From my post-race notes:

“The course looped through City Park, a very large park that was scenic and of course very flat (being that it’s New Orleans).  Weather was a bit cool- upper 40’s at the start, lower 50’s for the high that day, and it was cloudy for the duration of the race.  Crowd support was zero.  Water stations were plenty and well-manned.  There were no locals cheering runners on at any part of the course, at least that I saw.  Finished on track at Tad Gormley stadium, which was fun.  Medals were decent, as were the shirts.  Plenty of food and water at the finish.  My finish time was 2:07:02.”

IMG_4997

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

Leave a Reply

