Louisville Half Marathon, Kentucky-7th state

Lucky number seven?  No, not really.  By this point, I was starting to feel mostly back in the swing of running post-baby and post-ITBS.  I chose this race because I had never been to Louisville, Kentucky and I thought it would be a fun city to check out and since it’s along the Ohio River I knew it should be a flat course.  I also thought the weather should be nice here in October, and it should be ideal running conditions.

As far as I can tell, the Louisville Half Marathon I ran in 2006 doesn’t exist any longer but there is The Urban Bourbon Half Marathon in Louisville in October, which sounds way cooler than the race I ran to be honest.  The Louisville Half Marathon I ran was similar to the Columbus Distance Classic, Ohio- 6th state in that it was unexceptional in almost every way.  The course, t-shirt given out, and medal were all just ho-hum and ordinary.  I was able to get my finish time back down close to where I wanted, so that was good at least.

For things to do, I missed the boat on that as well.  We didn’t really do much in Louisville, partly because I had a cranky infant who didn’t want to be cooped up in the car after such a long car ride, but partly because I just wasn’t in that mind-set at the time for planning things to do after the race.  It was still relatively early in my quest to run a half marathon in all 50 states and I was still learning as I went along.  If I were to go back to Louisville, I would definitely check out the Louisville Mega Cavern which sounds awesome and Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co..  When I was a kid I went to see the Kentucky Derby with a friend of mine’s family and that was pretty exciting, even to me then.  If you can’t swing that you can always go to the Kentucky Derby Museum.

For my race entry, I received a long-sleeve technical shirt of pretty good quality and a nice but simple-looking medal.  This is the first race where they were giving out shirts made of technical material.  Given that it was such a small race and this practice of handing out shirts made of moisture-wicking technical material was just beginning to take off in popularity, it was a pretty big thing then.

From my post-race notes:

“Parts of course ran along Ohio River.  Chilly at start but warmed up.  Other than that, course was unexceptional, but mostly flat.  Finish time 2:00:29.”

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

Leave a Reply

