Valley of the Sun Marathon and Half Marathon, Arizona-5th state

This was the turning point in my life where I started to think about all of the half marathons I had ran and the fact that I had ran in a few different states.  I had heard about other people running a marathon in all 50 states, and I knew about people who run a half marathon in half of the states, but that just didn’t seem right to me.  Why only run half of the states?  I thought maybe I could run a half marathon in all 50 states.

I was planning a work trip to Colorado and wanted to extend my trip out another week and go to the Grand Canyon and Sedona, Arizona for a vacation afterwards.  While I was planning all of this, I saw there was a half marathon in Phoenix, the Valley of the Sun Half Marathon, so I signed up and came up with a plan.  I was to fly to Colorado for a week then from there to Phoenix, where my husband would meet me and we’d spend a week in Sedona and the Grand Canyon.  Everything was all set.

Then I found out I was pregnant.  Oh boy.  What to do?  I asked my doctor and she said since I had a strong running base to go ahead and run the half marathon but to listen to my body and not go out for any PR’s but go easy.  I would only be a few weeks pregnant at the race and there were no complications in my pregnancy so she said everything should be fine.  I had been having morning sickness all along my pregnancy and the day of the race, I felt queasy as usual but nothing I couldn’t control.  After some crackers and ginger ale, I was good to go.

All of the runners for the race were bussed out to a park surrounded by cacti.  Even though it was pretty cold waiting for the sun to come up, it was beautiful and even a bit surreal for someone like me from the east coast who had never been to Arizona before.  The course was pretty flat and since we started so early, it didn’t get too hot.  I made sure I never got out of breath and went slower than if I hadn’t been pregnant but I felt really good during the whole race.

I received a bright yellow short-sleeve cotton t-shirt and a cute medal with a red chili pepper on it at the finish.  The finish had the usual foods and water.  At this point, races were still pretty low-key compared to what they’re like now.

Sedona is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been and I highly recommend going here.  It’s about a 2 hour drive from Phoenix to Sedona and the Grand Canyon is about another 2 hours from Sedona.  The Grand Canyon is one of those places everyone should see at least once in their lifetime.

From my post-race notes:

“Got to watch sun rise while waiting in beautiful park surrounded by cacti.  Was pregnant for this race.  Course was mostly flat with one or two hills, one very long one.  Finish on outdoor track.  My finish time was 2:06:50.”

From what I can tell, the last year for this race was 2010, so I can’t add a link to the race site.  There are however, many half marathons in Phoenix so I’m adding a link to these plus others in Arizona here.

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

1 thought on “Valley of the Sun Marathon and Half Marathon, Arizona-5th state”

Leave a Reply

