Philadelphia Distance Run, Pennsylvania-3rd state

I decided to go to Philadelphia because I saw a great airfare there and neither my husband nor I had been there; we thought it would be a fun long weekend trip.  I also thought I could squeeze in a half marathon while there, as it just happened there was one when we were planning our trip.  I still didn’t have the intention of running a half marathon in every state at this point.

Anyway, I ran the Philadelphia Distance Run and it was the largest race to date for me with almost 7300 runners that day.  Hurricane Ivan had just rolled by and portions of the course were flooded the day before causing officials to devise an alternate route.  However, the day of the race, the weather was great for running- no rain and nice temps but a bit warm by the finish.  This was the first half marathon for me where all runners received a medal for finishing.  For my first few half marathons beginning in 2000 Battleship Half Marathon and Gold Rush Half Marathon, North Carolina-My first half marathon (and third and fourth)Kona Marathon and Half Marathon, Hawaii-2nd state medals just weren’t handed out to all finishers, but by 2004, it had become standard.  And if any of you that are familiar with Philly are wondering, yes, we ran past the “Rocky Steps” at the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Philadelphia is a fun city to check out for a weekend or long weekend trip.  Of course everyone that goes to Philly must see the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall (it’s free, too) and my husband and I definitely did that.  We also went to the Philadelphia Museum of Art, and that was nice.  Philadelphia is also world-renowned for their cheesesteak sandwiches so we had at least a couple of those while we were there.  It’s a nice walkable city so we were able to burn off the extra calories pretty easily with all of the walking we did.

I don’t have a terribly long entry in my post-race notes, but here’s what I wrote:

“Great course along some famous icons of Philly and river. Fun course. Mostly flat. Great volunteers and crowds.  Finish time of 2:00:31.”

As far as I can tell, the Philadelphia Distance Run no longer exists.  There is now a Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon in its place.

Rock ‘N’ Roll Philadelphia

 

 

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

1 thought on “Philadelphia Distance Run, Pennsylvania-3rd state”

Leave a Reply

