Kona Marathon and Half Marathon, Hawaii-2nd state

When I tell people I’m running a half marathon in every state, they usually ask, “Have you ran one in Hawaii yet?”  Hawaii was actually the second state I ran a half marathon in, before I even had the goal of running one in all 50 states.  I just happened to be planning a vacation there and saw somewhere there was a half marathon in Kona, which is one of the places I was going to be, and it was during my time there, so I thought, what the heck!  At least it will be a scenic race!  And boy was it ever!  Even though it was 15 years ago, I still vividly remember that race.  There was an early morning start so I got to watch the sunrise over the ocean and I remember thinking how lucky I was to be there.

I don’t have many details from this race because it was many years before I started this blog.  The best I have is what I put into my album full of my race bibs, newspaper clippings, finish times and photos.  Back then, medals weren’t given out to every finisher, so I didn’t even receive a medal at this race.  I did get a short-sleeve cotton t-shirt and fantastic memories, however.  If ever there was a race to turn into a racecation, this is one!  I had a great time in Kona for a week after the race.  I’ve since been back once and would love to go back again.  I highly recommend Kona and the big island of Hawaii.

From my post-race notes:

” Beautiful course along the water; course runs along part of same course as Ironman course.  Got to watch the sun rising over the water just before the start.  Got a bit warm toward the end, but wasn’t bad.  A lot of people were in front of their homes with sprinklers for runners.  My finish time was 2:02:06.”

http://konamarathon.com

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

3 thoughts on “Kona Marathon and Half Marathon, Hawaii-2nd state”

Leave a Reply

