Why I travel

As a child, I remember going on a few vacations with my parents and later, after they divorced, with just my mom and brother.  On one of our few vacations as a family of four, we went to Myrtle Beach for a few days with another family of four.  At one point or another during that vacation, someone from both families either had an earache, kidney stones, a cold, or motion sickness.  Needless to say, it was not a fun vacation.  During a vacation with just my mom and brother to Virginia Beach and Colonial Williamsburg, my mom kept complaining about how expensive everything was.  At least we weren’t sick during this vacation, but still, it wasn’t exactly a fun time either.  These are the memories I have from family vacations as a child.  I do have some good memories involving vacations as a child as well, but given my history it wouldn’t be surprising if I never wanted to travel as an adult.  The funny thing is, I can’t seem to travel enough to scratch the travel bug I developed as an adult.  When I was in college, I won a trip to the Bahamas, which was fantastic given that I was a poor college student paying my own way through school.  This was my first time outside the United States and I loved it.  I knew then that I wanted to travel more and see and do all I could.  Unfortunately, that was hard to do on my meager student wages so travel would have to wait.  Since finishing school many years ago, I’ve managed to travel to more interesting places and finally start to feel like I’ve dipped my big toe into traveling the world.  I still feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface as far as the places I’ve been compared to what’s still out there for me to explore, but I’m slowly but surely seeing the world.  So why do I travel?  Not to impress my friends by name-dropping exotic places.  Most of the time I don’t even post the photos on Facebook.  I think it’s more to see new places and try new things.  I know some people don’t like to get out of their comfort zones and go to new places, but I love it and can’t imagine my life without travel.  I certainly wouldn’t be the same person I am today if not for all of the places I’ve visited and things I saw and did there.

Author: runningtotravel

I'm a long distance runner with a goal of running a half marathon in all 50 states in the US. I also love to travel so I travel to other places when I'm not running races. Half the fun is planning where I'm going to go next!

Leave a Reply

